Love and lack thereof

“Sometimes it knocks the breath right out of me, realising how lucky I am to be here and alive with you.  To be the one you feel safe with.  To be the one whose bones you curl up into when it’s cold.  To be the one whose mouth you drowsily kiss when you are half asleep in my arms.”

Beau Taplin || L i t t l e  N o t h i n g

I accidentally stumbled across this on Instagram through someone else.  We take for granted connections we make with other human beings; we take love for granted.  Isn’t that something?  How could anyone take something that extraordinarily precious for granted, when there are people out there who are without it?

I wonder if it’s okay to be without it.  Mad Men also has a quote that struck me in the pilot episode:

” The reason you haven’t felt it is because it doesn’t exist. What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons. You’re born alone and you die alone and this world just drops a bunch of rules on top of you to make you forget those facts. But I never forget. I’m living like there’s no tomorrow, because there isn’t one.

It’s interesting because I feel strongly for both of these sentiments.  The softer approach to love; the gratitude involved, the pang for the fragility of it.  It would take one single beat for it to be gone and yet we (almost helplessly) cling to it while we’re immersed in it. And then there’s the second outlook; bleak and indifferent, yet strangely accepting of being alone.

I wonder if they’re really very similar ideas when you dissect them.  Although the second writing is strangely dismissive, it also has a hint of gratitude, “I’m living like there’s no tomorrow …” in other words: I’m sucking up all life has to offer, I’m present, I’m grateful.  While the first piece acknowledges, “… how lucky I am to be here” in the same present and thankful tone.

How lovely it would be if we all could live without the thought of tomorrow, with that feeling of luck.

Leave a Reply

