the mean, tall man in Suite 224

I didn’t realize he was mean at first.  We’d run into each other on the way to the restroom and exchange niceties.  If I would ask him how his day was going, he’d say:

“It’s going well enough. Yours?” and I would say something awful like “I can’t complain.”  I knew it would end there, I’d soon be surrounded by the safety of a bathroom stall.  I have enough social grace to greet a person, but enough social anxiety to not want it to go any further.

Once, tall man joined me for a walk around my building.  I couldn’t believe it, and I certainly didn’t invite it.   I never saw him out and about before.  But there he was, right beside me, his stride a lot longer.  I looked up at his long face and noticed a giant wart on his left cheek.  I started our conversation by saying something equally cringe-worthy to the hallway exchange.

I said, “I’m glad it’s Thursday!”

He said, “You shouldn’t always be looking forward to the weekend.”

I looked ahead at some trees, “That’s true.” We fell in silence, going our separate ways; I opted for the longer route around the building.  I reflected on the exchange while I put my headphones in to relax myself.  Sure, he was right.  I had said a trivial thing and he had a fair response.  But why did it bug me?

Because I do live for the weekends?

The next time I saw tall man I had a backpack on.  He asked me if I was part of the backpack brigade.  I laughed and said I didn’t know what that was.

Another time I saw the tall man I was unlocking my office door the day after New Year’s.  “Do you get the whole week of Christmas off? I noticed you weren’t in all week.” I smiled as warmly as I could muster and said, “Yes, I’m very lucky – my boss let’s me take the week of Christmas off.”

He said, “Wow.  He must not care about his business very much.”

I soon realized every exchange with tall man was going to be like this.  It left me feeling heavy and annoyed.  I genuinely hoped I’d never run into him.  My bathroom trips became quicker – I once ran down the hallway thinking I heard his door open.

For some reason my wish was granted, and I never saw tall man for quite a while.  I knew which office he was in; a corner unit on the second floor that faced our parking lot.  I knew he could look out a giant window and see me or my boss parking our cars, or walking up the stairs.  But he never appeared for a long stretch of time.  Until yesterday.

There he was with the same weird smile always plastered on his face.  His wart prominent.  I grimaced inwardly, but let out a meek, “Hello.” and he said, “Hi.” back.  I opened the exit door and walked down the stairs into the hot sunshine, but my annoyance rapidly turned into remorse.

I wondered about his life.  What made him so pessimistic? So dismissive? Was he a happy man? Or was his life in the corner unit depressing? What was home to him?  What made his smile look so slimy?

I decided to take his caustic observations in stride.  I won’t let it make me someone incapable of building acquaintances into potential friendships, or spreading kindness.

And I’ll stop saying things like “I can’t complain.”

One thought on “the mean, tall man in Suite 224

Leave a Reply

